dark mode light mode Search Menu
Search
how to remove someone from snapchat group featured image

How to Remove Someone From Snapchat Group? 5 Best Ways

Having a Snapchat friends group is a really fun way to connect with your friends. You can exchange texts, photos, videos, stories, and so much more with your gang. But on the flip side, it can also get annoying and even threaten your cyber safety if someone unwanted gets added to your group.

So how to remove someone from Snapchat group? And more importantly, can you remove them? Let’s find out!

Can you Remove Someone from a Snapchat Group?

Unfortunately, you can’t remove someone from a Snapchat group even if you are the one who has created it. As of now, Snapchat doesn’t offer any particular feature that can help you do this. Still, there are some workarounds.

Unlike most other messaging platforms like Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, etc., Snapchat doesn’t have a feature that lets you remove someone from a group. Even if you are the one who has created it, you do not have the ability to remove anyone.

How to Remove Someone from Snapchat Group

Although Snapchat does not offer a feature to directly remove someone from your group, there are a few workarounds. For one, you can ask the concerned person to leave the group, or you can leave it yourself. Additionally, you can create a new group without that person, block them, or simply wait for the group to expire.

While there is no exact way to remove a person from a Snapchat group, there are a few alternatives you can try:

1. Ask the Concerned Person to Leave

This may sound like a crazy idea, but if it is possible, the simplest way to remove someone from a Snap group is to ask them to leave. If you think there is a chance that the said friend/person will understand and comply, it’s definitely worth trying.

2. Block the Concerned Person on Snapchat

Blocking someone on Snapchat won’t remove them from your mutual groups. However, it can help you avoid seeing their messages on those groups and prevent them from seeing yours. But note that this will also remove them from your friends list (if you have added them as a friend on Snapchat). If you still want to block someone on Snapchat, follow these steps (same for both iOS and Android devices):

  1. Open the concerned Snapchat group and click its name to access group settings.
group chats screen
  1. Tap and hold the concerned user’s name under Group Members.
the account you want to block
  1. Tap Manage Friendship.
manage friendship page 1
  1. Tap Block.
the block option
  1. Again select Block to confirm.
blocking confirmation page

3. Create a New Snapchat Group

If you wish to be more discreet, you can simply create a new group with all the people in the current one and leave out the ones you don’t want to interact with. Here’s how to do it on your iOS or Android device:

  1. Open the Snapchat app and tap the new chat icon in the bottom right-hand corner.
snapchat new chat button in the bottom right corner of the page
  1. Tap New Group at the top.
form new group chat
  1. Select all the participants from your old group except the person you wish to remove.
create groups on snapchat by adding accounts from your friends list
  1. Tap Chat with Group button at the bottom once you’ve selected your members.
send group messages and group story to new group members

4. Let the Group Expire

Another alternative to removing a user from a Snap group is to wait for the group to expire. On Snapchat, groups also expire like individual chats. This means that if there is no interaction in a group for more than 24 hours, it will be automatically deleted. So, just try to make sure that there is no exchange on the said group for more than 24 hours, and you will automatically get rid of it along with the account you want to avoid.

5. Leave the Group Yourself

As a last resort, you can choose to leave the group to yourself to avoid interacting with that particular person. Here’s how you can leave a group chat on Snapchat.

  1. Open the chats section on your Snapchat app. Then, tap and hold on to the group you wish to leave.
access group leaving control
  1. Click Leave Group.
leave group option page
  1. Tap Leave to confirm your choice.
confirm leaving page

Tips to Keep Your Snapchat Group Safe for the Future

To keep your Snapchat group safe, make sure to only add people you can trust, define some ground rules, share your group privately, and keep a very limited number of members. This can help you have a safer group chat experience on Snapchat.

Unwanted group participants can compromise your group’s safety and compel you to take drastic actions which you might not be comfortable with. To avoid this, here are a few things you can do to keep your Snapchat groups safe in the future:

1. Add People You Know and Trust

To safely enjoy the many unique features of Snapchat, it’s best to only interact with people you know and trust. So, when you add a friend to your group, make sure you know and trust them. This will save you from all the hassle of leaving a group, creating a new one, or blocking/unfriending anyone.

2. Define the Rules for Your Group

Anyone who is a member of your Snapchat group has access to its various controls and settings. For example, they can change the chat name, add new members to it, and do many things. This is why you should define some ground rules for your Snapchat group and ensure that every friend you add adheres to them. This will help you have a safer experience on Snapchat.

3. Share Your Group Privately

If you don’t want random Snapchatters to have access to your group, you should share your group privately. Add friends to your group manually or if you want to invite them via a link, message it to each friend personally.

4. Fewer Users Are Always Better

Up to the count of a hundred, you can add as many users as you want to your Snapchat group. But if you want to have a safer and more peaceful experience, I’d advise against adding so many accounts. The fewer members in your group, the easier it will be to manage.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I delete someone from the Snapchat group directly?

No. Unfortunately, you can’t delete someone from a Snapchat group directly. However, there are some workarounds, such as asking the concerned person to Leave, blocking him/her on Snapchat, creating a new Snapchat group, or leaving the group yourself.

How to remove someone from Snapchat group?

Since there is no direct way to remove someone from a Snapchat group, there are other makeshift solutions you can try. For one, you can simply ask the concerned person to leave the group or block her/him on Snapchat. Alternatively, you can leave the group yourself to avoid that person.

Otherwise, you can create a new group by excluding that particular person. Or else, try to make sure that there is no interaction in the group for at least 24 hours, and the group will expire.

How can I make someone leave a Snapchat group chat?

To make someone leave a Snapchat group chat, you and other members should clearly communicate to him/her and explain to them why you need them to leave the group. But if it doesn’t work, you might have to leave the group yourself, block that person, or create a new group without them.

Can others see if I remove group members from the Snapchat group?

As you can’t remove someone from a group, there is no notification for the same. However, Snapchat will notify the group chat when someone chooses to leave the group on their own.

Will the user be notified if I block them?

No, your Snapchat friend won’t be notified when you block him/her. However, he/she won’t be able to find you on Snapchat if they search for you, which will make it apparent that you blocked them.

Can I delete a Snapchat group?

No, unfortunately, you can’t delete a Snapchat group. You can choose to leave the group, which will automatically delete the chat on your account. Or else, if no one exchanges any texts or snaps in the group for more than 24 hours, it’ll expire automatically.

How do I clear group chats on Snapchat?

To clear a group chat, tap and hold on to the chat > Chat Settings > Clear from Chat Feed. This will remove the group chat from your feed while keeping you a member of it. The chat will show up whenever there are new messages in the group.

Total
1
Shares
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Sign up for our newsletters and we’ll keep you in the loop with everything new going on in the tech world.
Don't worry, we hate spam too!
Total
1
Share